Honorees and Distinguished Speakers

2023 Porter Colloquium Honorees and Distinguished Speakers

Lifetime Achievement Award Honorees

Melvin Edwards

Martha Jackson Jarvis

Keith Morrison

Uzikee Nelson


Humanitarian Award Honorees

Dr. Walter O. Evans & Mrs. Linda J. Evans


Legacy Award

Mrs. Patricia Turner Walters


James A. Porter Book Award Recipients

Dr. Cheryl Finley, Committed to Memory: The Art of the Slave Ship Icon (Princeton University Press, 2018)

Dr. Rebecca Van Diver, Designing a New Tradition: Loïs Mailou Jones and the Aesthetics of Blackness (Pennsylvania State University Press, 2020)